Insurance companies in California are required by law to electronically report private vehicle insurance information to the DMV. This law has been in place since 2006.
Thus, if your privately owned vehicle doesn’t have at least the lowest required insurance coverage, the DMV has the legal authority to suspend your vehicle’s registration.
You’ll be glad to know that all of the insurance companies in our data base are licensed in California and are very knowledgeable of California’s minimum liability insurance requirements. California’s minimum liability requirements for 2013 are:
• $15,000 for injury or death of one person
• $30,000 for injury or death of one or more persons
• $5,000 for damage to property
* last updated 03/01/2013 – source California DMV